Why Should Any Soul Despair? (Newton)

One of my favorite things about reading anything by John Newton is his constant amazement at Christ’s love for him, a sinner. I also appreciate how Newton always told people something like this: If Christ loves and has saved a terrible sinner like myself, he will surely save you if you go to him in faith. On this topic, here’s a great hymn Newton wrote called “Hear What He Has Done for My Soul.” (As a side, I wonder what tune/meter would work for this song? I’ll have to look into that!)

Saved by blood, I live to tell
What the love of Christ hath done;
He redeemed my soul from hell,
Of a rebel made a son:
Oh, I tremble still, to think
How secure I lived in sin;
Sporting on destruction’s brink,
Yet preserved from falling in.

In his own appointed hour,
To my heart the Saviour spoke;
Touched me by his Spirit’s pow’r,
And my dang’rous slumber broke.
Then I saw and owned my guilt:
Soon my gracious Lord replied,
“Fear not, I my blood have spilt,
’Twas for such as thee I died.”

Shame and wonder, joy and love,
All at once possessed my heart;
Can I hope thy grace to prove
After acting such a part?
“Thou hast greatly sinned,” he said,
“But I freely all forgive;
I myself thy debt have paid,
Now I bid thee rise and live.”

Come, my fellow-sinners, try;
Jesus’ heart is full of love
Oh, that you, as well as I,
May his wondrous mercy prove!
He has sent me to declare,
All is ready, all is free:
Why should any soul despair,
When he saved a wretch like me?

John Newton and Richard Cecil, The Works of John Newton, vol. 3 (London: Hamilton, Adams & Co., 1824), 626–627.

Shane Lems Covenant Presbyterian Church (OPC) Hammond, WI, 54015