Three Excellent (Lesser-Known?) Logos Resources

 I’ve been using Logos Bible software for around two years now, and I keep finding various jewels in my collection.  Although I could list a few more, here are three that I recently began using quite a bit.  These are three resources I’ve come to value and appreciate for my studies in Scripture.  I hadn’t heard of these resources before I got Logos, but now I find myself recommending them to others since I like them so much.

An Exegetical Summary of 1 Corinthians 10–16, 2nd ed.  First, Ronald Trail’s Exegetical Summary series is quite helpful.  It’s not an in-depth detailed syntactical and grammatical resource.  Instead, it is a phrase-by-phrase resource to help in translation and interpretation.  For example, I was studying 1 Corinthians 13:7 – a passage that has various translations.  The Exegetical Summary gives a helpful list on how various other resources translate the phrases in 1 Cor. 13:7.  Here is the summary for “love bears all things” (focusing mostly on “bears”):

LEXICON—a. pres. act. indic. of στέγω (LN 25.176) (BAGD 1. or 2. p. 766): ‘to bear’ [BAGD (2.); KJV, NET, NRSV], ‘to bear up under’ [ISV], ‘to suffer’ [Lns], ‘to put up with’ [LN; TNT], ‘to make allowances’ [NJB], ‘to be tolerant’ [ICC], ‘to be supportive’ [CEV], ‘to support’ [HNTC], ‘to protect’ [NIV], ‘to keep confidence’ [AB], ‘to cover’ [BAGD (1.), Herm, NTC], ‘to pass over in silence, to keep confidential’ [BAGD (1.)], ‘to endure’ [BAGD (2.), LN], ‘to stand’ [BAGD (2.)]. The phrase πάντα στέγει ‘bears all things’ is translated ‘there is no limit to (love’s) forbearance’ [NAB], ‘there is nothing (love) cannot face’ [REB], ‘never gives up’ [NLT, TEV], ‘never tires of support’ [NIGTC]. See this word also at 9:12.

After this Trail asks “What sense of στέγω ‘bears/covers’ meant here?  Then he answers the question by giving four different ways translators and commentators have interpreted it.  This is very helpful when I’m trying to decide the meaning or interpretation of a word.  In case you’re interested, I’m thinking that “bears” here means “covers” as in love covers a multitude of sins or “covers” as in covering in a protective way (see the NIV).

Dictionary of Bible Themes I also like this resource that I believe Zondervan put out some years ago: Dictionary of Bible Themes by Martin Manser.  This is something like an index of all the major Bible themes like love, anger, forgiveness, purity, fellowship, suffering, Christ’s patience, God’s glory, and so forth.  You can preview this online so I won’t explain it in detail.  But I have used it quite a bit when studying themes in the Bible.  For example, here’s section 8607 on God’s promises concerning prayer (note – in Logos the Bible references are linked so you can click on them):
God promises to hear and respond to the prayers of his people, when they pray in the name of his Son and according to his will.
God expects his people to make requests of him in prayer
Mt 7:7-11 pp Lk 11:9-13 See also Mt 21:22
God promises to answer prayer in the name of Jesus Christ
Jn 14:13-14; 15:7 See also Jn 15:16; 16:23-24
God promises to respond to the prayers of his people in times of need
Ps 91:14-16 See also Ps 50:14-15
God promises to hear the prayers of the oppressed
Ps 10:17 See also Ex 22:22-23,26-27; Ps 102:19-20; Isa 41:17
God promises to hear the prayers of the truly penitent
2Ch 7:14 See also Eze 36:37; Zec 10:6; 13:8-9
God promises to hear the prayers of his obedient people
1Jn 3:22
The need in prayer to have confidence in God’s promises
Mk 11:24; 1Jn 5:14 See also Mt 18:19

Lexham Theological Wordbook Finally, I like Logos’ own Lexham Theological Wordbook.  This lists resource doesn’t list the Hebrew and Greek words by lemma (that is, by the alphabetized Hebrew or Greek word), but rather by domain (that is, by concepts like glory, hope, and idolatry for just a few examples).  So if you want to learn a bit what the Bible says about joy, you click on joy and it gives you 1) a concept summary/definition, 2) theological overview, 3) lexical information, and 4) a related words/concepts list that is linked to other themes in the book.  I could spend a bunch more time explaining it, but if you go to Logos’ website (here), you’ll see a better explanation of it.

Again, there are other great resources in Logos that I use daily.  But these are three that some may have overlooked – like I did for a while!  But now that I’ve found them and used them, I’m for sure glad I have them.  Feel free to email me or comment below if you have other Logos resources like these that are worth pointing out.  Or, let me know if you have questions.  Finally, Logos kindly gave our blog readers a code for a Logos package discount, which you can use here.

Shane Lems
Hammond, WI

2 comments on “Three Excellent (Lesser-Known?) Logos Resources

  1. D Wallace says:

    Thanks Shane, this is helpful.

    It appears the Exegetical Summary is put out by SIL (Summer Institute of Linguistics) affiliated with Wycliffe Bible Translators, 23 NT books missing part of Luke, John, Matthew, etc. Also has a couple of OT books, & Sermon on the Mount.

    I’ll check out the others you mentioned. The Reformed packages are very useful also.

    Doug W

Comments are closed.