Book Giveaway: No God But One – WINNERS ANNOUNCED!

[[NOTE: the contest is over; I’ve emailed Jim and Brandon to notify them that they are the winners.  Thanks for the responses.  I enjoyed reading your quotes!]

Zondervan has kindly given me a few giveaway copies of Nabeel Qureshi’s excellent new book, No God but One, which officially hits the shelves tomorrow.  I’ve mentioned this book here in the last few weeks; it really is a solid resource that compares and contrasts Christianity and Islam in a clear and compassionate manner.  Many of you may know that Qureshi was a devout Muslim who found Christ (or was found by Christ) after seriously investigating the claims of the Christian faith.  He has also written Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus and Answering Jihad – both of which I’ve reviewed and quoted here.  I highly recommend these Christian resources!

Back to the giveaway.  It goes like this: if you’re interested in winning No God but One, simply reply in the comment box below with your favorite Christian quote – one that you probably have memorized.  Bible verses are fine, of course!  Two randomly selected replies to this blog post will win.  And please leave your email address in the reply form so I know how to contact you.

Happy quoting!

Shane Lems

21 comments on “Book Giveaway: No God But One – WINNERS ANNOUNCED!

  1. “Whom do I have in heaven but Thee? And besides Thee I desire nothing on the earth.” Ps. 73:25

  2. Ron says:

    The offer by you and Zondervan is very kind.
    “Unity that is formed on expedience is, in reality, grounded upon an implicit ignorance. As everyone knows, all colors will look the same in the dark.” Francis Bacon

  3. (Reply to the Diet of Worms) “Since your majesty and your lordships desire a simple reply, I will answer without horns or teeth. Unless I am convinced by Scripture and by plain reason (I do not believe in the authority of either popes or councils by themselves, for it is plain that they have often erred and contradicted each other) in those Scriptures that I have presented, for my conscience is captive to the Word of God, I cannot and I will not recant anything, for to go against conscience is neither right nor safe. Here I stand; I can do no other. God help me. Amen.” ― Martin Luther

  4. “Truth becomes hard if it is not softened by love; love becomes soft if it not strengthened by truth.” (John Stott)

  5. Christopher E. Nyland says:

    “For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

  6. Your words were found, and I ate them,
    and your words became to me a joy
    and the delight of my heart,
    for I am called by your name,
    O Lord, God of hosts. Jeremiah 15:16 ESV but I had that memorize in NASB ’77 when I first learned this in 2005 and still with me on that.

    “I am a great sinner and Christ is a great Savior.” John Newsome

  7. Jim Langston says:

    When asked upon his death bed to speak of what he considered to be the greatest theological truth, Karl Barth replied, “Jesus loves me!”

  8. “This sanctification is throughout, in the whole man; yet imperfect in this life, there abiding still some remnants of corruption in every part; whence ariseth a continual and irreconcilable war, the flesh lusting against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh.”

    Westminster Confession of Faith, Chapter 13.2

  9. Bill Haynes says:

    “Christianity, if false, is of no importance, and if true, of infinite importance. The only thing it cannot be is moderately important.” — C. S. Lewis

  10. Rob Braun says:

    But if the Spirit of him that raised up Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he that raised up Christ Jesus from the dead shall give life also to your mortal bodies through his Spirit that dwells in you. Rom.8:11

  11. CW says:

    A dog barks when his master is attacked. I would be a coward if I saw that God’s truth is attacked and yet would remain silent. John Calvin

  12. 861a says:

    Shane, I have written a historical-fiction novel about PTSD from a Reformed perspective.  I was diagnosed w/ PTSD b/c of my tour of combat in Vietnam.  The novel is almost ready for publication — we still have a few more issues to iron out before it goes to print.   Is it possible for you to read it & if you think it has merit, to review it for me?  There is nothing like it on the market since most of the PTSD materials out there are either dispensational or secular.  I graduated from Covenant seminary in ’93, & recently received my PhD.  I wrote my thesis on PTSD – definition, history of PTSD, brain alteration from combat stress, bad worldviews [luck, chance, chaos theory, etc.], Just War Theory, Value of Trauma, Providence & Sovereignty, God’s Common Mercy & Biblical Theology.   Let me know if you are interested.  Thanks. Romans 6:23-24 For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. 24 being justified freely by His grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, Because Jesus’ Grace alone is Semper fi (always faithful), Jim Carmichael PhD

    From: The Reformed Reader To: jcarmichael861a@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, August 29, 2016 8:51 AM Subject: [New post] Book Giveaway: No God But One #yiv9435360019 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv9435360019 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv9435360019 a.yiv9435360019primaryactionlink:link, #yiv9435360019 a.yiv9435360019primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv9435360019 a.yiv9435360019primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv9435360019 a.yiv9435360019primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv9435360019 WordPress.com | Reformed Reader posted: ” Zondervan has kindly given me a few giveaway copies of Nabeel Qureshi’s excellent new book, No God but One, which officially hits the shelves tomorrow.  I’ve mentioned this book here in the last few weeks; it really is a solid resource that compares and ” | |

  13. “What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us.”
    ― A.W. Tozer

  14. donrcog says:

    “Only Jesus can turn….a mess into a message, a test into a testimony, a trial to triumph, or a victim to victory.”

  15. Ed says:

    “. . . every effort to ‘prove’ God is a denial of Him. In all such rationalistic proofs, God is brought before the logic of man’s mind and required to ‘justify’ and ‘prove’ His existence. The god who is then derived or ‘proven’ is the god of man’s imagination, not the living God of Scripture. To prove means to establish by evidence, to show to be true, to test, and to verify. We cannot prove God He is the Source of all proof. We are rather proven, tested, or verified by Him. He alone can justify.” —R. J. Rushdoony, Systematic Theology, v. 1 (Ross House Books, Vallecito, 1994) p. 661

  16. Bryant Yarbrough says:

    Tho there may be many failings in the faith of true believers, there shall not be a total & final failure of their faith ~ M Henry, Lk 22:32

  17. Mark says:

    The Judgements of the Lord are Righteous and true, Lincoln
    vazzmark@gmail.com
    Thanks

  18. M.C. says:

     For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him might not perish but might have eternal life. (John 3: 16)

  19. “I’m so thankful for the active obedience of Christ. No hope without it.” Machen, of course!

  20. Ruben Cardenas says:

    “Men may spurn our appeals, reject our message, oppose our arguments, despise our persons, but they are helpless against our prayers.” – J. Sidlow Baxter

  21. chopin92 says:

    “What is the chief end of man?” “Man’s chief end is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.” (Westminster Catechism, Question and Answer #1).

Comments are closed.