Refuge In The Righteousness of Christ: A Hymn

The Works of Augustus M. Toplady, Volume 6  While there are some newer hymns that faithfully reflect the truths of Scripture, there are quite a few that do not.  Speaking of hymns that are true to Scripture, Augustus Toplady (d. 1778) wrote quite a few of them (including “Rock of Ages,” “A Debtor to Mercy Alone,” “Christ Whose Glory Fills the Skies,” and “Hail Thou Once Despised Jesus,” among others).  The one below, which might also be a poem, is called “Refuge in the Righteousness of Christ.”  I’m looking for a tune that fits it; I’ve come close…let me know if you have one!  Here is an explanation of the gospel of grace in hymn form:

    1   From thy supreme tribunal, Lord,
Where justice sits severe,
I to thy mercy seat appeal,
And beg forgiveness there.
      2      Tho’ I have sinned before the throne,
My advocate I see:
Jesus, be thou my Judge, and let
My sentence come from thee.
    3      Lo, weary to thy cross I fly,
There let me shelter find:
Lord, when thou callest thy ransomed home,
O leave me not behind!
     4      I joyfully embrace thy love
To fallen man revealed;
My hope of glory, dearest Lord,
On thee alone I build.
     5      The law was satisfied by him
Who flesh for me was made:
Its penalty he underwent,
Its precepts he obeyed.
    6      Desert and all self-righteousness
I utterly forego;
My robe of everlasting bliss,
My wedding garment thou!
        7      The spotless Savior lived for me,
And died upon the Mount:
Th’ obedience of his life and death
Is placed to my account.
   8      Canst thou forget that awful hour,
That sad, tremendous scene,
When thy dear blood on Calvary
Flowed out at every vein?
       9      No, Savior, no; thy wounds are fresh,
Even now they intercede;
Still, in effect, for guilty man
Incessantly they bleed.
   10      Thine ears of mercy still attend
A contrite sinner’s cries,
A broken heart, that groans for God,
Thou never wilt despise.
     11      O love incomprehensible,
That made thee bleed for me!
The Judge of all hath suffered death
To set his prisoner free!

Augustus M. Toplady, The Works of Augustus M. Toplady, vol. 6 (London; Edinburgh: William Baynes and Son; H. S. Baynes, 1825), 334–335.

Shane Lems

3 comments on “Refuge In The Righteousness of Christ: A Hymn

  1. CW says:

    It’s an 8.6.8.6 meter.

    Here’s your tune choices:
    https://www.ccel.org/cceh/index/metr_86.htm

  2. Verla Crippen says:

    This poem is C.M. (Common meter). If you use a tune that is C.M.D you can combine two verses together and the tune is not as repetetive (because there are 11 verses). The only problem is that the number of verses is uneven so you either need to repeat one, or leave one out or repeat the last two lines to complete the poem. Examples of such hymntunes would be: “Macedonia”‘ “God Is Our Refuge and Our Strength” “Majestic Sweetness Sits Enthroned” and I like “my God, My God O Why Have You Forsaken Me”. These are all found in the Trinity Hymnal. Look in the back of the Hymnal under Meters and find C.M.D. for more ideas.

Comments are closed.