In His Death Alone

I appreciate this dialogue I found in a footnote from Robert Reymond’s book, The Reformation’s Conflict With Rome: Why it Must Continue.  It was written by Anselm of Canterbury to console a dying Christian (d. 1109).

Q. Do you rejoice, brother, that you are dying in the Christian Faith?
A. I do rejoice.

Q. Do you confess that you have lived so wickedly, that eternal punishment is due to your own merits?
A. I confess it.

Q. Do you repent of this?
A. I do repent.

Q. Do you have the willingness to amend your life, if you had time?
A. I have.

Q. Do you believe that the Lord Jesus Christ died for you?
A. I believe it.

Q. Do you thank Him for His passion and death?
A. I do thank Him.

Q. Do you believe that you cannot be saved except by His death?
A. I believe it.

Come then, while life remains in you, in His death alone place your whole trust; in nothing else place any trust; to His death commit yourself wholly; with this alone cover yourself wholly; in this enwrap yourself wholly. And if the Lord your God wishes to judge you, say, “Lord, between Your judgment and me I present the death of our Lord Jesus Christ; in no other way can I contend with You.” And if He shall say that you are a sinner; you say, “Lord, I interpose the death of our Lord Jesus Christ between my sins and You.” If He says that you have deserved condemnation; say, “Lord, I set the death of our Lord Jesus Christ between my evil deserts and You; and His merits I offer for those which I ought to have, but have not.” If He says that He is angry with you; say, “Lord I set the death of our Lord Jesus Christ between Your wrath and me.” And when you hast completed this, say again, “Lord, I set the death of our Lord Jesus Christ between You and me.”

Reymond, The Reformation’s Conflict With Rome, p. 76.

Shane Lems

One comment on “In His Death Alone

  1. DJR says:

    Another book added to the list, especially if Art Sippo says it’s no good.

Comments are closed.