Nothing has changed …

A very moving section from Ed Welch’s newest book:

“I have bad news. The lesion is cancerous…. Life expectancy is usually between nine and twelve months.”

He thanked the physician for being helpful, clear, and forthright. They arranged a follow-up appointment to talk about experimental treatments. He and his wife left the office and cried together.

His first words were, “Nothing has changed.”

In the face of the worst possible circumstance for both himself and his family, he said, “Nothing has changed.” His heart and its clear-eyed knowledge of Jesus hijacked the internal conversation and essentially said this: “If you think that news of my death will change my confidence in God’s love toward me, it won’t. His Son gave his life for me. Why would I think he would love me less now? He loved me yesterday when everything seemed to be going well. Nothing has changed – he loves me today too.”

That was the final word. There was so much to do, and many tears would follow. Indeed, he asked for prayer from family and friends – for faith, for hope, for love – but he never revised that initial conversation, even though he died, surrounded by his family, a year later.

Edward Welch, Side by Side: Walking With Others in Wisdom and Love (Crossway, 2015), pg. 36.

_______________________
R. Andrew Compton
Christ Reformed Church (URCNA)
Anaheim, CA

