Pro-Life, Pro-Human, Pro-Children, Pro-Women

I’ll come back here next week and give a more extensive review of this book: Abolishing Abortion.  For now, I do have to note that I disagree with its heavily Roman Catholic orientation, from its focus on the pope to its Romish doctrine of the church.  I’ve written on Rome here before more than once (including reasons why I will never go to Rome), so I won’t revisit these issues here.  However, I do want to point out a few parts of this book that I found helpful – specifically the following quotes:

“We don’t have the right to life because somebody else says that we have it.  We don’t have the right to life because some court, congress, governor, or king grants it to us.  Rather, we have our rights from God.”

“When a government says that some people don’t have to be protected, that is the stuff of which genocides are made.”

“…Human rights are not granted by political systems.  They are ‘pre-political.’  They exist before government and, in fact, must be honored, served, and secured by government, not because the leaders of government say so, but because to fail to do so undermines the very purpose of government.”

“The legalization of abortion changes our government from one that protects unalienable rights to one that dispatches them as it sees fit.”

“To tolerate abortion not only flies in the face of Christian teaching.  It is un-American.”

“To be pro-life is to be pro-human – pro-child and pro-woman.  Pro-woman is not a marketing slogan but our fundamental message.  The challenge the pro-life movement gives to society is, ‘Why can’t we love them both?’ …One cannot love the woman without loving the child.”

“The nature of post-abortion grief is that the individual involved in the abortion has begun to realize precisely what a big deal it was.  …A great disservice was done both to her and her child when someone convinced her that the abortion would be ‘no big deal.’

“Abortion is the exact opposite of love.  Love says, ‘I sacrifice myself for the good of the other person.’  Abortion says, ‘I sacrifice the other person for the good of myself.”

These quotes were taken from Frank Pavone, Abolishing Abortion (Nashville: Nelson Books, 2015).

shane lems

One comment on “Pro-Life, Pro-Human, Pro-Children, Pro-Women

  1. […] week I gave a few quotes from this book by Frank Povone, Abolishing Abortion (here).  Today I want to give a brief review of the book for those interested in pro-life […]

Comments are closed.