Ryan Job: Duty, Courage, Faith

There are certain people in this world that are just plain inspiring.  Maybe you know someone who is a solid Christian and also a principled helper and encourager – devoted to Christ, his family, and others.  These are people you enjoy being around because God uses them to bless you in various ways.  Ryan Job was a man like that.  Not only did he sweat and bleed his way through SEAL training (BUD/S), combat in Iraq, and a debilitating gunshot wound, he also was devoted to the Lord, his wife, his SEAL team, and many others.  Granted, Job had his flaws, but in the big scheme of things, God used this man to help a lot of people.

Robert Vera writes about Job in his book, A Warrior’s Faith (Nelson Books: Nashville, 2015).  This book isn’t a biography, but it does give a window into Ryan Job’s life and outlook on life.  The book is divided into three sections: 1) Tested, 2) Transformed, and 3) Redeemed.  Vera describes Job’s life in the SEALs, his perseverance through tough situations, his motivation to live each day, and his dedication to core principles.  I’ve thought of this before as well, since I was in the Army: some military principles are very helpful in the Christian life (e.g. duty, honor, courage, respect, etc.).  I don’t want to give all the details of Job’s story away, but suffice it to say that there are many aspects of his life that encouraged, motivated, and helped me in my own life.  I wasn’t familiar with Job’s story, so the whole thing was a treat to read.

My main (and really only) critique of the book is that the theology isn’t that great.  For example, Vera finds many parallels between Ryan Job’s life and the life of biblical Job.  Those seemed like a stretch to me.  Also, Vera several times notes that God speaks to people through random events, which is quite debatable.  The book was about faith and following the Lord, but it doesn’t really explain the gospel or other aspects of the Christian faith.

However, aside from my critique, one can still benefit from this book since Job’s story is an inspiring one.  Perhaps Vera heaped too much praise on Job – perhaps.  But the main point stands: God used Ryan Job to bless a lot of people, and Job is a good example of living a purposeful God-centered life.  I urge men to read this book – even teenage boys who need a “hero” (in the very best sense of the term) should read this book.  I’ll for sure give it to other men who could use some direction and encouragement in the Christian life.  Vera does a good job of weaving Ryan Job’s story with practical life application and guidance.  Even though I have some theological disagreements with this book, I do recommend it!

Robert Vera, A Warrior’s Faith (Nashville: Nelson Books, 2015).

NOTE: I received this book as part of the BookLook blogger program, and was not required to write a positive review.

shane lems
hammond, wi

4 comments on “Ryan Job: Duty, Courage, Faith

  1. SLIMJIM says:

    Thanks for this review; neat to see another Reformed brother who writes reviews who is former military and also enjoy military books!

    • Good to hear from you, SlimJim. When I was in high school, I read some military books which were part of the reason why I signed up. Since then, I’ve read extensively about WWII, mostly the European theater. Feel free to let me know the military books that you feel are “must reads.” Thanks!

      • SLIMJIM says:

        Wow…your journey is similar to mine! I read a lot on the military in high school as well which really motivated me to join. I’ll keep that in mind what you said.

Comments are closed.