Introducing “The Doctrines of Grace: Student Edition” by Shane Lems

Shane Lems, The Doctrines of Grace: Student Edition (P&R 2013)

I still remember that day as a teen when a fellow classmate at my (Reformed) Christian High School said, “Predestination?  That’s absurd!  That would make us robots!”  Though I was catechized at my church, I was wholly unprepared for the objections my classmate had to what seemed to me to be a most basic and uncontested biblical doctrine.  Andrew, meet Arminianism.  I came to find out that what my church and school believed about predestination were actually minority positions in the present day American church scene.

By God’s grace, my youth pastor directed me to R.C. Sproul’s video series, Chosen by God.  These lectures gave me some helpful guidance.  But what I lacked was a book I could consult.  Sure there were good books written on this topic in the 1990’s (e.g., Steele & Thomas, Loraine Boettner), but as a kid, I wasn’t about to plod through them.  (Too long!)

Well, it’s about 20 years too late for me, but the very book I needed back then is available now thanks to the hard work and pastoral heart of my friend and co-blogger, Shane Lems.  Shane has created a wonderful 12-chapter introduction to the “Five Points of Calvinism” that is short, easy to read and simple to consult.  Designed for his High School catechism class, the book is aimed squarely at young people.  Nevertheless, it is also a worthy resource for adults who are new to the Reformed tradition or who are preparing to disciple someone in the biblical doctrines of grace.

This highly recommended resource is very accessible and very reasonably priced, both in paperback and e-Book formats.  Thanks, Shane, for your work on this one!

__________________________
R. Andrew Compton
Christ Reformed Church (URCNA)
Anaheim, CA

2 comments on “Introducing “The Doctrines of Grace: Student Edition” by Shane Lems

  1. Nevada says:

    Well done, Shane! Well done! Sane discussions of “TULIP” are always needed. The “five points” were my first introduction to “Calvinism” (though unfortunately that’s about all my “introducer” knew… My family ended up in a bizarre hyper-Calvinist cult… but I digress [grin]).

Comments are closed.