Joy and God’s Omniscience

Product Details Here’s an excerpt from a daily devotional book containing various writings of James Montgomery Boice.  This is a commentary of sorts on John 21:15, where Peter says to Jesus, You know that I love you!

“There is joy in an awareness of God’s omniscience – for two reasons.”

“First, God knows the worst about us and loves us anyway.  If God did not know all things, we might fear that someday something evil in us would spring up and startle God and turn his affection from us.  He would say, ‘Oh, look at that horrible sin!  I didn’t know that was there.  How terrible!  That changes everything.  I won’t have anything to do with that person anymore.’  If God were not omniscient, that might well happen.  But God knows all things.  He knows the worst about us and loves us anyway.  The Bible teaches that it was ‘while we were still sinners, Christ died for us’ (Rom. 5:8).”

“Second, since God knows all things, he also knows the best about us, though others do not.  The disciples might have been startled by Peter’s defection.  They might have said, ‘If Peter is capable of denying Jesus like that, who knows what other sins are lurking within him.  He might even be a false disciple.’  But Jesus knew better.  He knew Peter’s heart and love.  It is not surprising in view of this knowledge that Peter appeals to him.”

“Never say, ‘I can do it, Lord.  I know I can, I know my heart.’  Say rather, ‘Lord, you know what is there.  You put it there.  You know what love I have for you.  Take it and make it into something that will abound to your glory.’”

James Montgomery Boice, Come to the Waters, devotional from Sept. 15.

rev shane lems

One comment on “Joy and God’s Omniscience

Comments are closed.